Little Red Skirt

This is the second of my promised weekly makes for MeMadeMay2017. The fabric is a medium weight cotton supposedly Liberty which was a gift from one of my daughters for Christmas.

IMG_6590 2

I was given a 2m piece of this and originally wanted to make a pair of summer trousers BUT the fabric is only 90cm wide so must be quite old and not enough for trousers. I therefore decided to make a little skirt but make it with extra care due to the provenance of the fabric.

I used the Tweed A line mini skirt hack of the Lace pencil skirt pattern in the GBSB ‘Fashion with Fabric’ book, mainly because those are both lined skirts and I wanted to line this make. I used a plain red lightweight cotton muslin for the lining. I cut a size 14  but although the pattern measured ok I ended up taking about 6cm off the hips altogether.

I followed the instructions up to the zip insertion, but as I had an ordinary zip as opposed to an invisible zip I had to make it up from there which caused a bit of head scratching but I am really pleased with the result.

IMG_6591       IMG_6595

I also faced the waistband, under stitched the facing and attached it at the side seams and dart seams. I have just finished the facing with overlock stitching.

IMG_6592

 

The hem is finished with satin bias tape.

IMG_6594

The skirt fits nicely but I have given up trying to take photos of myself wearing my makes, I’m totally incompetent.

I have also labelled the skirt with my own label, a packet of which has just arrived from Wunderlabel

IMG_6596

 

In other sewing excitement I have taken the advice of The Material Lady and have found a relatively local sewing teacher, the rather wonderful Gail Ames. Whilst I have enjoyed sewing for years I know NOTHING !! I’ve really enjoyed the first few sessions and looking forward to many more……

Little Red Skirt

Leave a Reply

