The Ellie Travel Case, Bee Style.

So you know those days when you spend far too much time on the internet reading other people’s blogs ? I was doing just that yesterday when I came across Fabric Mutt’s Ellie Travel Case and thought I’d give it a go.

This bag is made entirely from scraps; the very last bit left over from The Bee Cushion, denim scraps from my Morgan jeans, and the lining  from my Southport dress cutouts. the ‘batting’ is from a jacket lining kit I bought in a fit of enthusiasm for making a tailored jacket but for which I have not yet developed sufficient skill…..

The zip is an old one from a bag of random zips I got from eBay but which I’ve never managed to match up with any previous makes.

Fabric mutt’s instructions and photo tutorial are really clear and potential items of difficulty are pointed out and explained although they didn’t account for me having to sew through 6 layers of denim weight fabric to attach the handles (breaking 3 size 90 needles in the process !)

IMG_6099

The lining went in well.

IMG_6103

And I’m quite pleased with the end result especially as I’ve never made anything like this before. The finished item is washbag sized and I think it’s really cute.

IMG_6098

IMG_6108

 

This entry was posted in Fabric design, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

