Tilly and the Buttons – Marigold Trousers

I’ve never made a Tilly pattern despite them being all over the internet and liked the look of a loose-ish pair of trousers, but was sold by the pockets and pleat detail. I bought the pattern and was slightly put off by the requirement for ‘drapey’ fabric as originally I had in mind a light cotton lawn.

However I was persuaded by an offer on didyoumakethat‘s Dogs in Space posting to order this viscose from Stoff and Stil. I actually bought two different lots of viscose but one was MUCH more expensive than the other so this pair is my practice pair in the more reasonable fabric.

img_5960

I found Tilly’s style of photo illustrated instructions very helpful and easy to follow although I needed to concentrate to focus on the trouser instructions rather than the jumpsuit instructions as they are mixed up together.

I also remember why I don’t like sewing with viscose, it frays horribly ! But now I have an overlocker it was soon brought under control.

I cut a straight size 4 and am very pleased with the fit of the trousers without having to make any adjustments. I am quite tall and often find I have to adjust the rise on trousers but these have a deep rise which worked well for me.

img_6039                                        img_6037

I really like the pocket and pleat detail of this trouser design.

img_6040

Waistband finishing.

img_6041

So now I need to break out the ‘real’ fabric….

I’d definitely give another Tilly and the Buttons pattern a go.

P.S. Just seen Tilly’s pair of Marigolds at the Knitting and Stitching Show 2017 and am now going to stitch through the elastic along the length of the waistband as she has to get the waistband sitting flatter…..

 

 

Tilly and the Buttons – Marigold Trousers

One thought on “Tilly and the Buttons – Marigold Trousers

Leave a Reply

