‘A’ frame skirt

When I first saw the pattern for this ‘A’frame skirt from Blueprints for Sewing I knew I had to make it. I love the simple ‘A’ line shape of the skirt, the longer length, and the panels for interest.

The fabric I used was bought from eBay and was described as ‘wool’, its not like any wool I have ever come across before being more like a light canvas or linen and quite stiff even after washing, but it was inexpensive so I thought it would do for a first go at this pattern.

I cut a size E at the waist grading to an F at the hips, the instructions are really clear and well illustrated, especially for grading between sizes which I think contributed to the fit of the finished skirt which I was really pleased with and needed no further fiddling about with.

I played about a bit with the colour blocking so the skirt is asymmetrical but it’s MY skirt and that’s the way I wanted it, so there !

IMG_4435

The pattern instructions are for a lapped zip and there is a detailed tutorial for doing this but I decided to put in an invisible zip, my second ever and I am thrilled with the way it has turned out (my first attempt in another garment took 11 attempts to get right !!) This one went straight in.

IMG_4434

There is a kick pleat at the back of the skirt and hemming this is the only point where I felt the instructions let me down. The instructions just said hem the skirt all the way round but I found that problematic getting round the folds of the pleat ( 6 layers of fabric) and I had to press like mad to make it look presentable, I’m sure I should have been cutting something or hemming at a different point in the construction to make it easier.

IMG_4436

 

IMG_4478

IMG_4480

The skirt shown here is my first attempt but I will definitely be making this again as it fits so well (next time I’ll do up the button before taking the photos too).

‘A’ frame skirt

One thought on “‘A’ frame skirt

Leave a Reply

