Marilla Walker Evan skirt

I have an old (20+years) and much loved long denim skirt that needs replacing so I was delighted to discover the Marilla Walker Evan skirt pattern that seemed remarkably similar in style to my ancient friend.

I decided to make it in a different colour and chose a Rust linen blend from Truro Fabrics.

I downloaded and traced off the pattern and started to sew. As with the Marilla Walker Roberts pattern that I had made previously I found the instructions really clear and easy to follow. There is A LOT of topstitching on this garment and I was especially pleased with the way it worked out on the back yoke.

IMG_3873

Something completely new to me was a fly front zip but here again the clear instructions worked well. There was also a tip to use a lighter fabric for the fly linings so I used some very small scraps from a previous project to make these. (Not sure what happened to the colour resolution here . The fabric is definitely rust rather than cherry coloured.)                                                                                  IMG_3876

I am really pleased with the way this skirt has turned out, it is remarkably similar to the garment I was trying to emulate and it even fits better !

IMG_3921 (1)                           IMG_3879

 

Marilla Walker Evan skirt

One thought on “Marilla Walker Evan skirt

Leave a Reply

