Kiomi Dress

Daughter no1 and I were trawling through Etsy last weekend and discussing the similarities in style between Japanese and Swedish design when we came across the Japanese fabric site Miss Matatabi, there were so many items that we liked on there but daughter really loved this Japanese Jar Salads Fabric and asked if I could make the Kiomi dress from Lotta Jansdotter Everyday Style with it. I was a bit dubious about ordering fabric all the way from Japan but decided to give it a try as there were so many things on the site that liked. Delivery was up to 14 days so I was prepared to wait but my parcel turned up on Friday, just 5 days later.

On opening the parcel I could hardly bear to open up the fabric as it was so beautifully packaged !

IMG_3666        IMG_3668

It went straight in the washing machine and was ready for cutting this morning.

The pattern looked straightforward enough but after having done the neck binding it became obvious that no one except a small child would be able to fit their head through the neck hole so I had to take off my carefully made and applied bias tape to make the head hole larger by 3 whole inches ! Having been warned by this experience I doubled checked the armholes before adding the binding and found that a similar adjustment needed to be made.

On the plus side I liked the method of applying the neck binding which resulted in a really neat finish.

IMG_3684

I don’t think that the picture of the dress in the book is entirely accurate though as the neck binding pattern doesn’t give nearly as wide a neck binding as that illustrated. I don’t think it matters for this particular garment but if I was making it again in a plain fabric I would make the neck binding wider.

IMG_3688

I am pleased with the final garment and hope daughter will be too.

IMG_3685        IMG_3689.

I couldn’t bear to throw away the lovely fabric scraps used in the packaging so used them to make some hair scrunchies.

IMG_3695

All in all a satisfactory days sewing.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kiomi Dress

  1. Emmy says:

    Gorgeous fabric and dress!

    Like

Leave a Reply

